KidSpace Blog

I’m back and it’s time to save money

Posted on: January 4, 2008

Wow! What a holiday season I had… So much fun and now I’m back at work. And, it’s time to start saving money for next Christmas!! Speaking of money, what do you do to teach your kids about the importance of saving, earning or even investing? I remember getting a weekly allowance for completing five chores (and these were chores outside of cleaning my room or bathroom). I would receive my age in allowance. My mom also taught me to save (or, in other words, get a great deal!). She was the queen of bargain shopping and that has been passed on to me (I could tell you right now, as I type this, that everything I’m wearing was bought on sale!). The most memorable money saving experience I had as a kid was coupons! My mom would write up her list of groceries and hand it on over to me. I would then match coupons to the items on the list. For every coupon she used, she would pay me the savings (and if I could convince her to shop on double coupon days, I could get twice the money!!). I was rolling in the change!!!

Here are some great websites, books and even a movie that will help you to teach your kids about saving:

Millennium Mom’s Blog: 15 Ways to Teach Kids How to Save

New York Times Article “For Those Born Rich, Lessons on How to Stay That Way

New York Times (again!) “Teaching Teamwork, but with Real Money

The Everything Kids’ Money Book: From Saving to Spending to Investing–Learn All About Money! This book is super popular here at the West Palm Beach Public Library.

Growing Money: A Complete (and completely updated) Investing Guide for Kids!
I love this book… it’s actually helped me and I’m not a kid!!!

And, check out this dvd called Piggy Banks to Money Markets. It even won the Parents’ Choice Gold Award.

I would love to hear what you do to teach your kids about money… Please share with us!

Leave a comment

Subscribe to this Blog



Kids' Events Photos